Information About Our City

East St. Louis is a city located in St. Clair County, Illinois, directly across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, Missouri. The city covers approximately 23 square miles. As of the 2010 census, the city had a total population of 27,006. One of the highlights of the city's waterfront is the Gateway Geyser, the tallest fountain in the United States, which spews water to a height of 630 feet and is designed to mirror the Gateway Arch across the river in St. Louis.

City Government

The City of East St. Louis has approximately 190 employees (23 are part time) and a fleet of approximately 103 vehicles. The City’s current Operating budget is approximately 45 million dollars. East St. Louis operates under a City Council-Manager form of government. The City Council consists of 4 Council Members and the Mayor. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council and serves as City Administrator, and directs all City operations. The City has nine central departments:

  • Building Maintenance
  • Emergency Services
  • Finance

Elected Departments

The Administrative Department is headed by the City Manager, and there are four elected departments: City Council, Mayor, City Clerk and City Treasurer.

Office Locations

The City of East St. Louis has 6 separate offices. The East St. Louis Municipal Building is located at:

301 River Park Drive
East St. Louis, IL 62201

The Mayor, Emeka Jackson-Hicks and City Manager, Alvin L. Parks Jr., are headquartered in the facility and the City holds its regular and special council meetings at that location. East St. Louis’ Public Works Building is located at:

613 North 20th Street
East St. Louis, IL 62201

View the locations of the 4 fire houses